Jim McCan and Janet Lee’s Return of the Dapper Men from Archaia received five Eisner Award nominations, a total matched by Hellboy creator Mike Mignola. Dapper Men snagged nods for “Best Graphic Album,” “Best Writer” (McCann), “Best Artist (Lee), “Best Publication Design,” and “Best Publication for Teens.”
Mignola received five nominations, including three for Hellboy, which is published by Dark Horse. Nick Spencer and Joe Eisma’s intriguing Morning Glories (Image), and Joe Hill and Gabriel Rodribuez’ Locke & Key (IDW) each managed to land 4 nominations. DC Comics led all publishers with 14 nominations, though it’s not always easy to parse the awards in terms of the various publishing houses.
The winners of the 2011 Eisner Awards, which named for the legendary comics artist Will Eisner, will be announced on July 22 at Comic-Con International in San Diego.


Enhanced by Zemanta